Jimi Hendrix - Merry Christmas And Happy New Year
Jimi Hendrix - Merry Christmas And Happy New Year
Singer: Jimi Hendrix
Album title: Merry Christmas And Happy New Year
Label: Experience Hendrix ‎– 5651-7, Classic Records ‎– 5651-7, MCA Records ‎– 5651-7
Type: Vinyl, 7", 45 RPM, Limited Edition, White
Country: US
Date of released: 1999
Category: Rock
Style: Rating: 4.6/5
mp3 size: 1684 mb | flac size: 1446 mb
Genre: Rock

Tracklist Hide Credits

A Little Drummer Boy/Silent Night/Auld Lang Syne
Adapted By – Jimi HendrixBass – Billy CoxDrums, Backing Vocals – Buddy MilesGuitar – Jimi HendrixWritten-By – Traditional
B Three Little Bears
Bass – Noel ReddingDrums – Mitch MitchellEngineer – Eddie KramerGuitar, Vocals – Jimi HendrixWritten-By – Jimi Hendrix

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Experience Hendrix, L.L.C.
  • Copyright (c) – Experience Hendrix, L.L.C.
  • Published By – Experience Hendrix, L.L.C.
  • Licensed To – Classic Records, Inc.
  • Recorded At – Baggy's Studios
  • Recorded At – Record Plant, N.Y.C.
  • Mastered At – Sterling Sound


  • Band – Band Of Gypsys (tracks: A), The Jimi Hendrix Experience (tracks: B)
  • Compilation Producer – Eddie Kramer, Janie Hendrix, John McDermott
  • Design – Smay Vision
  • Engineer [Tape Transfer] – Gregg Gasperino*
  • Liner Notes – John McDermott
  • Mastered By – Eddie Kramer, George Marino
  • Photography By [Back Cover] – Dave Sygall*
  • Photography By [Cover] – Dezo Hoffman*, Rex Features
  • Producer [Original Sound Recordings] – Jimi Hendrix


From the back of the record:

As Christmas 1969 beckoned, Jimi Hendrix, bassist Billy Cox, and drummer Buddy Miles engaged in extensive rehearsals for their highly anticipated appearances a t the Fillmore East in New York.

Branded by Hendrix as the "Band Of Gypsys," the trio worked feverishly rounding such exciting new original material as "Izabella" and "Machine Gun" into form.  Keenly aware of the special significance his forthcoming concerts represented, Jimi wanted to prepare something extraordinary for his audience.  To mark the occasion in his own inimitable fashion, Jimi readied this special medley of holiday favorites to celebrate both Christmas and the dawning of a new decade.

This recording was made at Baggy's Studios, a Manhattan rehearsal facility the group preferred.  It by no means should be considered a polished studio recording made to Hendrix's exacting specifications.  It is, instead, perhaps even more revealing.  This is a glimpse of Jimi simply having fun in the company of close friends.

The photograph of Jimi posing as Santa Claus was originally organized on behalf of the UK music newspaper Record Mirror.  To help publicize the December 1967 release of Axis: Bold As Love, the group's second album, Jimi agreed to pose as Santa for the issue's cover.  An alternate photograph from that session, with Jimi bearing gifts in the form of Axis: Bold As Love, is featured here.

As an added bonus, also included is Jimi's playful "Three Little Bears".  This track was recorded with the Experience at the Record Plant in May 1968 during sessions for Electric Ladyland.  Bypassed for that album, "Three Little Bears" was originally issued as part of the 1972 posthumous compilation War Heroes.  It has been unavailable in the US for nearly twenty-five years.
- John McDermott

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 01704-5651-7 0
  • Matrix / Runout: 5651-A
  • Matrix / Runout: 5651-B

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
088 155 651-2 Jimi Hendrix Merry Christmas And Happy New Year ‎(CD, EP, Comp) Experience Hendrix 088 155 651-2 US 1999
MOVLP225 Jimi Hendrix Merry Christmas And Happy New Year ‎(10", Ltd, Num, RM, RP) Music On Vinyl MOVLP225 UK & Europe 2016
5651-7 Jimi Hendrix Merry Christmas And Happy New Year ‎(7", Ltd, Gre) Experience Hendrix, Classic Records, MCA Records 5651-7 US 1999
88697 77228 1 Jimi Hendrix Merry Christmas And Happy New Year ‎(10", Gre) Experience Hendrix, Legacy 88697 77228 1 US 2010
5651-7 Jimi Hendrix Merry Christmas And Happy New Year ‎(7", Ltd, Red) Experience Hendrix, MCA Records 5651-7 US 1999

Jimi Hendrix - Merry Christmas And Happy New Year listening: where to download for free?

You can currently download the Jimi Hendrix - Merry Christmas And Happy New Year album for free in mp3, flac formats at music.smp3s.com. It is also possible to buy "Jimi Hendrix - Merry Christmas And Happy New Year" on Amazon, Discogs as listen or rent it on Spotify, Apple Music.